Incognito’s Bluey Returns To The Citrus Sun With New Album


While he's best known as the mastermind behind music's Incognito band, group founder Jean-Paul "Bluey" Manuick's heart also belongs to another group these days. The bandleader/musician's latest project is Citrus Sun, an eight-piece band that he formed with fellow Brit, guitarist Jim Mullen. Bluey's impetus for creating the band was born from his love of Mullen's musicianship. "We are now good friends and I have collaborated with him on several projects...but as a teenager in the '70s, I was just a fan," Bluey explains.

The result is People of Tomorrow, the band's sophomore album due out on March 17th. If some of the songs are reminiscent of Incognito, then there's a good explanation for that; six of the band's members include Incognito members Matt Cooper on keys, Francis Hylton on bass, Francesco Mendolia on drums, Joao Caetano on percussion and Dominic Glover on trumpet. The 10-track CD features vocals by Valerie Etienne on two tracks, including a remake of the late Terry Callier's "What Color Is Love," while the rest of the album is primarily instrumental. Another aspect that differentiates this Citrus Sun from past Incognito album's is that the album takes on a more Latin jazz feel, with songs like "Tonight We Dance" and "Mais Uma Vez" serving as lively standouts. Check out the album's first single "What Color Is Love" and then peep the tracklisting to see what's in store on Bluey's latest venture.

Citrus Sun People of Tomorrow tracklist:

1. Mais Uma Vez (One More Time)
2. Tonight We Dance
3. What’s Going On
4. What Color Is Love (feat Valerie Etienne)
5. Cooking With Walter
6. You’re So Far Away
7. Yesterday Detroit
8. People Of Tomorrow
9. As Night Falls
10. Micia

TAGS:  , , , , , , , , , , ,