Old School & New School Meet On The ‘DOPE’ Soundtrack


DOPE is quickly shaping up to be one of the summer's must-see films. The film looks to break the mold of the coming-of-age story and retell it for a new generation using classic storytelling tools and mixing them in with the new media age. A similar approach is being taken the film's soundtrack, which mixes a few old-school hip hop classics with some new school artists and four original productions by Pharrell Williams, one of the film's executive producers and the curator of the eclectic collection of songs.

As far as Pharrell goes, though, you won't see his name on the tracklist. That's because they are under the guise of Awreeoh, the fictional band of the film's protagonist. Much like Skateboard P's side project N.E.R.D., the contributions here fuse punk, rock and hip hop for something altogether different. But that's not the only newness here, as Zoe Kravitz's band Lolawolf also make an appearance alongside songs by A Tribe Called Quest, Nas, Digable Planets, Naughty By Nature and Gil Scott-Heron.

You can get your first taste of Awreeoh right here, with the glitchy, hip-punk track "Don't Get Deleted." Music From The Motion Picture DOPE will land in stores on June 16th while the film will hit theaters three days later on June 19th.

Music From The Motion Picture DOPE tracklist

01 Rebirth of Slick - Digable Planets
02 Can't Bring Me Down - Awreeoh
03 The World Is Yours - Nas
04 Go Head - Awreeoh
05 Rebel Without A Pause - Public Enemy
06 Don't Get Deleted - Awreeoh
07 Scenario - A Tribe Called Quest
08 Cocaina Shawty - Kap G
09 Poppin' Off - Watch The Duck
10 The Humpty Dance - Digital Underground
11 New Money - Buddy
12 Hip Hop Hooray - Naughty By Nature
13 Dirty Feeling - Lolawolf
14 Home Is Where The Hatred Is - Gil Scott-Heron
15 It's My Turn Now - Awreeoh

TAGS:  , , , , , , , , ,