TOP FIXED NAV

Tuxedo Is Back To Funk Us Up ‘The Tuxedo Way’ & Announce North American Tour

We've been getting a lot of new music this year. But you know what's been missing? The funk. Thank goodness Jake One and Mayer Hawthorne, collectively known as modern funk duo Tuxedo, have decided to drop a new jam. The twosome come correct with their celebratory song "The Tuxedo Way."

As with most of their work, "The Tuxedo Way" is firmly rooted in the funk and boogie sound of the late '70s and early '80s yet brings a feel of the here and now into the mix. Mostly though, it's all about having a good time. "The funk is here to stay / I'll toast to that," Mayer sings on the chorus. Later in the song, he urges all the party people to raise their cups, get their backs up off the wall and let their hair down.

"Tuxedo is music for celebrating," Jake and Mayer said in a statement. "Yet, as we were working on new music, we realized, much to our surprise, that we didn't actually have a quintessential celebration song in our catalog. 'The Tuxedo Way' is the answer to that problem."

You'll also get a chance to celebrate with Tuxedo in person as they've also announced a 21-date North American tour that kicks off in Santa Ana, California on July 20th. From there, they'll crisscross the United States and Canada — hitting up cities like Dallas, Atlanta, New York, Toronto, Detroit and Chicago — before wrapping things up on the West Coast in San Diego on August 24th. Presale tickets for the show go on sale today (May 15th) while general tickets will be available May 17th via the band's website.

Get ready for Tuxedo kind of summer by toasting it up to "The Tuxedo Way" below, where you'll also find a full list of tour dates.

Tuxedo North American Tour Dates:

Saturday, July 20 – Santa Ana, CA @ The Observatory
Friday, July 26 – Las Vegas, NV @ NoMad Pool (DJ set)
Sunday, July 28 – Denver, CO @ The UMS
Tuesday, July 30 – Austin, TX @ Empire
Wednesday, July 31 – Dallas, TX @ Trees
Friday, August 2 – Atlanta, GA @ Masquerade
Sunday, August 4 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club
Monday, August 5 – Philadelphia, PA @ The Foundry
Tuesday, August 6 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall
Wednesday, August 7 – Boston, MA @ Brighton Music Hall
Friday, August 9 – Toronto, ON @ Danforth Music Hall
Sunday, August 11 – Detroit, MI @ El Club
Tuesday, August 13 – Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall
Wednesday, August 14 – Minneapolis, MN @ Cedar Cultural Center
Saturday, August 17 – Seattle, WA @ The Showbox
Sunday, August 18 – Vancouver, BC @ Fortune Sound Club
Monday, August 19 – Portland, OR @ Wonder Ballroom
Wednesday, August 21 – San Francisco, CA @ Regency Ballroom
Thursday, August 22 – Santa Cruz, CA @ The Catalyst
Friday, August 23 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Globe Theater
Saturday, August 24 – San Diego, CA @ The Observatory


TAGS:  , , ,


Encore

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!