Jacob Collier Paints A Picture Of Loneliness In ‘He Won’t Hold You’

Are you as obsessed with the musical genius of Jacob Collier as we are? When he's not wowing us by quadrupling himself for a recent appearance on NPR Music's Tiny Desk (Home) Concert series, he's got us open with the lush singles and visuals from his upcoming Djesse Vol. 3 — which is set to drop next month. The last video that we got from the set was the inventive clip for "All I Need." Jacob is back with yet another, though, with an animated video for "He Won't Hold You."

The clip matches the almost elegiac mood of the song with a black-and-white pallet and brushstroke style. The moments of the video act as light during Jacob's verses as we see a man mourning a lost love while in the midst of a busy city. We're broken away from that when Rapsody's verse comes and the screen fills with white. It's there that we see a woman walking along a beach as she reflects on her side of the love affair. Soon, we're back with the man inside his bare apartment, though this time color infuses the brushstrokes as he stares out of the window. The moment is enough for him to pick up the pieces of what's left in the apartment and sit at his piano. The last images we see in the clip are of tranquil clouds floating in a light sky as the tide flows into the sand.

Djesse Vol. 3 looks to be a star-studded affair. Not only does Rapsody make an appearance, but so do MahaliaTy Dolla $ignT-PainJessie ReyezDaniel CaesarKimbraTank and The BangasKiana Ledé and Tory Kelly. So there will be a little something for everyone when the set arrives on August 14th. Get into the beautiful video when you press play and then check out the set's tracklist below.

Jacob Collier Djesse Vol. 3 tracklist:

2. Count The People (feat. Jessie Reyez & T-Pain)
3. In My Bones (feat. Kimbra & Tank and The Bangas)
4. Time Alone With You (feat. Daniel Caesar)
5. All I Need (with Mahalia & Ty Dolla $ign)
6. In Too Deep (feat. Kiana Ledé)
7. Butterflies
8. Sleeping On My Dreams
9. Running Outta Love (feat. Tori Kelly)
10. Light It Up On Me
11. He Won't Hold You (feat. Rapsody)
12. To Sleep

TAGS:  ,