D’Angelo Is Set To Get ‘Live’ Once Again

DAngelo Live Jazz Cafe Cover

By now, news of a new D'Angelo album is about as believable as a sighting of Bigfoot, however, there will be a somewhat new release from the reclusive R&B star coming our way. Completist fans of the singer and illegal downloaders alike are familiar with D's 1996 Japan-only release Live at the Jazz Cafe, London,  a six-track EP recorded while the singer sat in at the titular venue on a September night just after the release of his debut, Brown Sugar. Many of  Brown Sugar's tracks got live renditions that night, more than what was included on the initial EP. Now, however, D'Angelo fans worldwide will be able to get the complete experience for the first time with the rerelease Live at the Jazz Cafe, London: The Complete Show. Not only will you get to hear D perform his classics like "Lady" and "Brown Sugar," but you'll also be able to hear his take on songs by Mandrill ("Fencewalk"), Al Green ("I'm Glad You're Mine") and Earth, Wind & Fire ("Can't Hide Love"). Though it's not James River (or whatever he's going to call the album that he's been promising for nearly a decade now), it's a decent enough consolation prize to hold fans over until he actually delivers new material. Though, judging by his track record, I definitely wouldn't hold my breath for that one. The full 11-song set will be available for purchase on March 25th. Peep the tracklist right here.

D'Angelo Live at the Jazz Cafe, London: The Complete Show tracklist:

1. Introduction
2. Fencewalk (Mandrill cover)
3. Sweet Sticky Thing (The Ohio Players cover)
4. Jonz in My Bones
5. Me and Those Dreamin’ Eyes of Mine
6. Sh*t, Damn, Motherf*cker
7. Cruisin’ (Smokey Robinson cover)
8. I’m Glad You’re Mine (Al Green cover)
9. Lady
10. Announcement

11. Can’t Hide Love
12. Brown Sugar


TAGS:  , , , , ,