PJ Morton To Prove He’s The ‘Live Show Killer’ On New Album & Provides A Taste On ‘I Need Your Love’


Those lucky souls who've been to a PJ Morton show already know that he's the self-proclaimed and widely acclaimed "live show killer." If you've yet to be blessed with the PJ Morton concert experience, then get ready for the next best thing with his upcoming live album, the appropriately named Live Show Killer.

SoulBounce was in the house during PJ's live album recording last month at Henson Studios in Los Angeles, and it was an amazing affair. Morton and his band The Crusade dazzled those in attendance with a set that was described as a "gloriously funked-out, soul-drenched and gospel-fied time" with PJ singing songs from his catalog as well as covers and highlighted by special guests Tweet and Mali Music. That recording will be packaged up as Live Show Killer and released on an 18-song CD/DVD combo on July 7th on his own indie imprint, Morton Records.

Needless to say, we can't wait to get our hands on that project, but thankfully we don't have to wait to hear a sample from it. Billboard premiered the track "I Need Your Love" today, and PJ Morton and The Crusade show out on the cut.  The original "I Need Your Love" can be found on Morton's 2010 album, Walk Alone. The song was great as-is, but here it comes alive and leaps from the speakers, taking the listener by the hand and for a twirl on the nearest dance floor. PJ Morton sounds better than ever, and the horn section is to live and die for on this jam.

With the recurring question, "Is it live or is it Memorex?," popping up when many a suspect singer performs in concert these days, PJ Morton is the refreshing real deal. Get into "I Need Your Love" right here, and join us in impatiently waiting for Live Show Killer to drop on July 7th.

PJ Morton and The Crusade Live Show Killer tracklist

1. Lover
2. Only One
3. Never Get Over You
4. I Need Your Love
5. Don't Ever Leave
6. How We Were Pt. 1
7. Try a Little Tenderness (Interlude)
8. How We Were Pt. 2
9. Good Days Bad Days
10. Heavy feat. Mali Music
11. Is This Love (interlude)
12. Love You More feat. Tweet
13. Work It Out
14. Mountains and Molehills
15. Trade It All
16. Thank You For Being a Friend (Golden Girls TV show theme)
17. I Need You
18. Where Everybody Knows Your Name (Cheers TV show them)

TAGS:  , , , ,