Maysa Shares Scenes From The ‘Battlefield’ In Her Quest To Spread ‘Love’

Based on recent offerings from KeKe Wyatt and Patti LaBelle, it seems cover albums from powerhouse vocalists might be trending for 2017. One project we’re particularly excited about is the forthcoming Love Is A Battlefield from Maysa. The part-time frontwoman for Incognito announced the project a few weeks ago along with the lead single, a soulful spin on Pat Benatar’s classic hit “Love Is A Battlefield.” As we get closer to the premiere of her “lucky 13th” solo effort, she pulls us in deeper with a lyric video for the album’s title track.

Casting aside the previous label as a love song, the visual imagery offers an alternate interpretation of the lyrics. Maysa shares, "I definitely feel responsible for putting out music that helps people. That is my calling in life and that is what God put me on this earth to do." Photos and video snippets of symbolic icons, slavery, protest marches, war-torn lands, civil unrest, humanitarian relief efforts, disaster victims and more provide powerful reminders of hard-fought victories and the battles we’re still fighting every day.

Watch the clip below and pre-order Love Is A Battlefield for an instant download of the single. The set features Maysa’s jazzy interpretations of songs by Luther Vandross, The Isley Brothers, Tevin Campbell and more. Peep the full tracklist below, and if you can’t wait for the May 26th release, set a reminder to check out the Love Is A Battlefield world premiere/listening party with Sandy Shore on this Saturday, May 20th at 10 a.m. PT. Fans can connect with the artist via Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, or better yet, visit her website to see when she'll be performing in your town.

Maysa Love Is A Battlefield tracklist:

1. The Things We Do for Love
2. Can We Talk
3. Love Is a Battlefield
4. Because It's Really Love
5. Inside Out
6. Inseperable
7. As Long as You Love Me
8. Footsteps in the Dark
9. Am I Dreaming
10. Mr. Dream Merchant

TAGS:  , , , , , ,