Tori Kelly Readies New Album ‘Inspired By True Events’ & Drops Visual For ‘Sorry Would Go A Long Way’

When singer-songwriter Tori Kelly dropped her single "Change Your Mind" earlier this year, we thought it might've been a one-off release. Well, we thought wrong. The singer (and newlywed) is wasting no time after dropping her GRAMMY-winning gospel album Hiding Place just last year and will release her new set Inspired By True Events this August. In addition to making the album announcement, Tori also released her newest single, "Sorry Would Go A Long Way," and its music video.

"Sorry Would Go A Long Way" finds the singer and producer Jimmy Napes getting back to her basics with a spare arrangement of acoustic guitar and vocals. It's a fitting arrangement to accompany the song's honest and bare lyrics. They find Tori addressing a lover as she lets him know that though he might talk a good game, the one thing he could say that would really help is simply "I'm sorry." The song's video delves further into things by continuing the story told in the clip for "Change Your Mind." Rather than show what happens next between the father and daughter, though, it takes us back to the beginning. There we see the joyous moments of his own wedding juxtaposed with scenes at home as the marriage falls apart. Both the hurt and love expressed in the song and visual are palpable, evoking the rawest of emotions whether you've been through something similar or not.

With song titles like "Kid I Used To Know," "Pretty Fades," "The Lie" and "Actress," we're pretty sure that Inspired By True Events will probably be hitting us square in the feels when it arrives on August 9th. Check out the video for "Sorry Would Go A Long Way" below and stick around to peep the cover art and tracklist for the new album.

Tori Kelly Inspired By True Events tracklist:

1. Coffee
2. 12/16/1992
3. Change Your Mind
4. Language
5. 2 Places
6. 8/28/1997
7. Kid I Used To Know
8. Pretty Fades
9. 3/2/1991
10. Sorry Would Go A Long Way
11. Actress
12. The Lie
13. Until I Think Of You
14. 3/26/1994
15. Your Words
16. Before The Dawn

TAGS:  ,